The New 7 Wonders of The World

The 7 Wonders of the World is judged according to a set of criterias. First, Time Span – this marks the time when the place was built, how long its been standing and its history. The Structure Quality tells how the structure was preserved through time, it must be man-made, which means man was involved on the process of building the structure and no artificial components was used in constructing or maintaining the place. It should be included on the 21 finalists from different countries. Only 1 entry candidate is accepted per country. Its Artistic and Cultural Value and last but not the list, the number of phone and SMS votes.

Chichen Itza, Mexico – A historical site that features plenty of beautiful stone buildings, connected through a very developed network of paved roads. The most popular areas are the Great Ball Court, the Central Group and the Great North Platform, the latter containing probably the best monument from the site – the El Castillo.

The Colesseum, Rome Italy – The Roman Empire’s greatest architecture and engineering work, the construction started between 70 and 72 AD, under the rule of emperor Vespasian. The arena was remodeled and restored several times and during the Roman empire’s existence, it was mainly used for gladiator and animal fights.

The Great Wall of China – Located on the Northern China, the Great Wall measures more than 5,500 miles of which the structural wall is around 3,900 miles, the rest being made up of trenches and natural barriers like rivers and hills. Construction on the wall was started as early as the 5th century BC as a way of protecting different areas from invasions and raids.

Machu Picchu, Peru – also called “The Lost City if the Incas”, Machu Picchu is a historical site located on the mountain above the Urubamba Valley in Peru. Built at an altitude of 7,970 ft. (2,430 meters), is considered one of the significant cultural site because it was never discovered by Spanish and conquistadors, so it remained almost intact.

Petra, Jordan – Jordan’s most visited site, Petra (Greek for “rock”) is an ancient settlement in the Ma’an Governorate famous for being carved directly into rock. Apparently, a sanctuary existed in the area long before the 16th century BC, but the actual city was founded around the 6th century BC and became the capital of the Nebataensa, ancient people from that part of Asia.

Christ the Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – At the height of 1, 300 ft. (39.6 meters) and a width of 98 ft. (30 meters), Christ the Redeemer (“Cristo Redentor” in Portuguese) is one of the largest Art Deco statues in the world and is Rio de Janeiro’s iconic landmark. The statue is located in the Tijuca Forest National Park on top of 2,300 feet (700 meters) Corcovado mountain overlooking Rio and depicting Jesus with its arms stretched (a symbol of peace).


Taj Mahal, India – Built between 1632 and 1653, the Taj Mahal is the mausoleum ordered by Mhugal emperor Shah Jahanito commemorate his wife Mumtaz Mahal who died giving birth to their 14 child. Considering this and the reports depicting the emperor’s grief, the Taj Mahal is often seen as a beautiful symbol of love. After his death, Shah Jahan was buried there also next to his wife and the Taj was neglected, the whole complex was being damaged, especially after the British raids during the Indian rebellion of 1857.



  1. I’d love to go to the Taj Mahal one day.

  2. The only wonder of the world I’ve seen (or I think it’s one, or used to be) is the Grand Canyon. I’d love to see all of these sights with my entire family!

  3. Robin says:

    I haven’t seen any of the wonders of the world.

    Didn’t the grand canyon used to be one? If so, I’ve seen that.

  4. This must go into my bucket list. Haven’t seen any. sigh…

  5. I would love to travel someday!

  6. Rachel says:

    I have traveled a lot but have never seen any of these. Time to get back out there!

  7. Awesome post!

Speak Your Mind